Thursday, April 24, 2008

Cat Power - Jukebox

Cat Power is the stage name of American singer/songwriter Charlyn "Chan" Marshall (born Charlyn Marie Marshall on 21 January 1972). She is known for her minimalist style, sparse guitar and piano playing, and ethereal vocals.
She often performs reworked covers at her live shows, of songs old and new such as those by Gnarls Barkley, the White Stripes, Bob Dylan, Nina Simone, and Jessie Mae Hemphill.
Jukebox is the eighth album by Cat Power.The album is comprised almost entirely of cover songs, save for "Song To Bobby" and "Metal Heart" ("Metal Heart" was previously recorded and released in 1998). This is Marshall's second record of cover songs; her first, The Covers Record, was released in 2000.

Disc: 1
1. New York
2. Ramblin' (Wo)man
3. Metal Heart
4. Silver Stallion
5. Aretha, Sing One For Me
6. Lost Someone
7. Lord, Help The Poor & Needy
8. I Believe In You
9. Song To Bobby
10. Don't Explain
Disc: 2
1. I Feel
2. Naked, If I Want To
3. Breathless
4. Angelitos Negros
5. She's Got You

+Cat Power - Metal Heart (live):


  1. i love her cover of new york. I heard it on the radio once and I was really confused about how I knew the words