Thursday, November 13, 2008

Kaiser Chiefs

Kaiser Chiefs are an English indie rock band who formed in 1997, inspired heavily by Britpop band Blur. Hailing from Leeds, the group consists of vocalist Ricky Wilson, guitarist Andrew 'Whitey' White, bassist Simon Rix, keyboardist Nick 'Peanut' Baines, and drummer Nick Hodgson. They were named after the South African football club Kaizer Chiefs, a team which former Leeds United defender Lucas Radebe played for.

The group's debut album, Employment, was released in 2005. It was primarily inspired by new wave and punk rock music of late 1970s, and enjoyed international success with sales of over three million. In 2005, the album was shortlisted for the Mercury Prize. Kaiser Chiefs' second album, Yours Truly, Angry Mob (2007), yielded "Ruby", a number one single in the United Kingdom.

Off with Their Heads is the third album by English rock band Kaiser Chiefs, and was released on 20 October 2008. The first single from the album was "Never Miss a Beat", released two weeks before the album.

The album was originally scheduled for release on October 13, but was put back a week due to "packaging production delays".

The album features guest appearances from several people: Lily Allen contributes backing vocals on "Always Happens Like That" and "Never Miss a Beat" (she previously covered "Oh My God" on her first mixtape and later with Mark Ronson on his album Version), three members of the English indie band New Young Pony Club also feature on backing vocals on "Never Miss a Beat", Sway DaSafo raps one verse of "Half The Truth", and James Bond composer David Arnold (who performed with the band at 2007's BBC Electric Proms) also appears on the album.

+Kaiser Chiefs - Never Miss a Beat:

No comments:

Post a Comment