Wednesday, October 29, 2008

Cobra Starship

Cobra Starship is an American band created by former Midtown bassist/lead vocalist Gabe Saporta. The members consist of lead vocalist Saporta, Victoria "Vicky-T" Asher on keytar, guitarist Ryland Blackinton, bassist Alex Suarez, and Nate Novarro on drums, all whom which provide backing vocals.

¡Viva La Cobra!

Cobra Starship released their second album, ¡Viva La Cobra!, on October 23, 2007. It was produced by Patrick Stump, who was also credited as helping with lyrics. The album has been toured heavily worldwide, most notably on Warped Tour 2008 and their current headlining SassyBack tour, which tours from October 7 through November 30 with guests Forever the Sickest Kids, Hit the Lights, and Sing it Loud.

Following the success of Katy Perry's "I Kissed a Girl", Cobra Starship recorded their own version/parody, "I Kissed a Boy," in summer 2008. The song was released in August on a free downloadable mix tape of Decaydance Records artists. The mix tape, under the collective "CitizensFOB" (For Our Betterment) and entitled "Welcome to the New Administration," was the endpoint of a viral marketing campaign both for Pete Wentz's vanity label and for Fall Out Boy's forthcoming album Folie a Deux. [listing now]

Cobra Starship has been in and out of the studio working on a third album, which has a planned early 2009.

+Cobra Starship - Snakes on A Plane (Bring It):

No comments:

Post a Comment